English | 中文

澳大利亚的商业监管环境日趋复杂。但必须合规,别无选择 - 其关键是要保护所有公司及员工的利益,无论大小。

 

豪力在此方面拥有丰富的经验,能够为客户在各个方面的合规性提供咨询及协助,能够与监管机构协调并对各部门的合规条例进行审查。我们在国家和省级层面都能为客户提供服务。

并且,在有需要时,我们还能帮助公司和个人在可能会受到监管部门立案调查后采取的民事和刑事诉讼进行应诉。

法律专长

我们的专家诉讼律师和顾问团队致力于帮助我们的客户取得最佳的结果。无论客户是为了通过制定各种制度和条例来寻求积极的风险管理,或被调查和起诉时提供咨询及代理,我们都能和他们一道来帮助指导企业在日益复杂的监管环境中畅行。我们专于:

  • 代表企业及个人应对监管调查和诉讼
  • 协助客户通过监管机构的监督和强行检查
  • 就不同企业和个人所面临的特定风险创建合规性和风险管理制度和方案。
  • 公司犯罪和调查

专业经验:

以下是我们最近参与澳大利亚主要监管机构的监管工作的一些实例。

行政上诉法庭(AAT):代表澳大利亚的屏幕生产商Beyond Productions公司上诉到AAT,寻求推翻Screen Australia根据《1997所得税评估法》(联邦法)就一纪录片系列拒绝授予生产商抵消证书的决定。随后代表Beyond Productions公司到联邦法院提出上诉,要求取消AAT维持Screen Australia的决定的裁决。

澳大利亚建筑和建设委员会(ABC): 代理ABC专员办公室调查和检控行业参与者违反《2009年公平工作法》( 联邦法)和《2005年建筑建设行业改进法 》(联邦法)行为,包括昆士兰一个假承包/少付工资的诉讼。

澳大利亚竞争和消费者委员会(ACCC):代表企业应对ACCC根据竞争法进行的调查。

就拟议的独家服务供应安排提供咨询并准备ACCC报告。

就拟议的竞争对手间的合资企业提供的各种服务提供咨询并准备ACCC授权。

就合资企业及独家供应安排提供咨询并准备ACCC授权。

就澳大利亚媒体行业的兼并向ACCC提交信息及满足ACCC的信息要求。

澳大利亚通信与媒体管理局(ACMA): 最近,豪力曾代表一家主要广播机构提出《行政裁决法》申诉,寻求推翻ACMA拒绝电台改变广播牌照范围申请的决定。

代表Today FM持牌商业电台应对ACMA对其涉嫌违反《澳大利亚商业电台业务守则》的广播进行的调查。

代理持牌人在行政上诉审裁处成功推翻ACMA在调查后对持牌人附加额外许可证条件的决定。

代理2UE悉尼持牌商业广播电台在联邦法院就有关ACMA对持牌人违反《1992年广播服务法》(联邦法)而处以的民事罚款的决定提出诉讼。 这是第一个根据法例做出的民事处罚诉讼。

澳大利亚审慎监管局(APRA): 代理Calliden保险集团成员公司分别两次在澳大利亚联邦法院寻求批准其根据《1973年保险法》(联邦法)将其保险业务转让给其他成员公司,以实现企业重组。申请包括准备提交给APRA批准的建议计划。

代表XL RE集团成员再保公司在澳大利亚注册为外国公司,向联邦法院提出申请,批准其根据《1973年保险合同法》(联邦法)将其再保险业务转让给另一家成员以实现企业重组的计划。申请包括准备提交给APRA批准的建议计划。

澳大利亚证券和投资委员会(ASIC): 代理一家金融服务持牌机构的一名前股票经纪人及授权代表应对ASIC的调查,随后又代表他在新南威尔士州地方法院由联邦检察院提起的刑事诉讼进行辩护。此调查和随后的起诉指控其作为股票经纪人有伪造和不诚实行为,向投资者提供了虚假和误导性的信息。

代理一家公司的前雇员应对ASIC对公司的调查并根据《2001年公司法》(联邦法)对其违反内幕交易规定和市场操纵规定的指控。并针对ASIC根据《2001年澳洲证券及投资委员会法》(联邦法)的第33条提出的要求提供文件的通知以及有关的合规性问题提供咨询。

代表一家商业电台持牌人向ASIC提交业务转让协议下的执行文件,以转让根据《2001年公司法 》(联邦法)在公司注销登记后已归属ASIC的财产。

代表清盘人根据《公司法》进行公开盘查申请。

就自愿管理破产从业者行为与ASIC进行交涉 - 诉讼和非诉讼谈判。

环境保护局(EPA): 豪力对EPA和其管理的法律有大量的经验和专业知识,包括:

  • 代理污染者就有关受污染土地向EPA提供调查及报告
  • 代理污染者就自愿修复污染土地与EPA达成协议
  • 代表土地所有者与EPA合作,以确定污染责任人
  • 代表开发商向EPA申请改变土地的使用
  • 代理债权人就借款人违约后的法定清理义务进行交涉。

豪力还协助EPA实施其市区及农村市政教育计划,业已加强土地污染整治,风险评估及土地使用管理。

金融申诉专员服务处(FOS): 代理投资者在金融申诉专员服务处(FOS)对大型证券经纪公司进行投诉。投资者的索赔起因于涉嫌违反《2001年企业法》(联邦法),以及证券经纪公司所持金融服务牌照规定的法定责任。为投资者就有关其FOS索赔的司法管辖权问题提供咨询,并为索赔做好了准备。

公平工作委员会建设行业督察: 协助督察根据《公平工作法》( 联邦法)提起诉讼。 最近,我们为督察就有关涉嫌违反工作场所法律的企业进行强制执行措施的实施及监察提供了咨询。

公平工作申诉专员(FWO):协助公平工作申诉专员进行调查和检控违反《公平工作法》(联邦法)行为,包括具有里程碑意义的FWO对Wongtas的非法怀孕歧视行为进行的诉讼。由于我们在FWO法律事务委员会的参与,我们的律师还特别被借调到FWO。

协助申诉专员实施执法行动,打击企业违反《2009年公平工作法(联邦法)行为。最近,我们协助专员有史以来第一次对违反《公平工作法》(联邦法)有关歧视的规定提出了诉讼 。

外国投资审查委员会(FIRB): 经常代表在澳大利亚投资的外国实体,尤其是在商业房地产,农业综合企业,媒体,能源和资源行业。

规划和基础设施部部长(新南威尔士): 协助部长对一起大型煤矿违反审批环境条件提起诉讼。

原住民土地权法庭: 多次代表原住民土地权法庭和住民土地权法庭注册处处长就有关《行政决定(司法审查)法》,《原住民土地权法》和《司法机构法》等相关事项出庭联邦法院和联邦最高法院。

新南威尔士州国家税务局专员(国家税务局): 代理纳税人将有关许多不同的估值问题,其中包括收购地主的车辆和退休村等重大利益,向国家税务局提交意见。

代理纳税人将有关交易的税务处理,包括销售和采购,持续经营,信托,租赁,开发协议及金融工具等,向国家税务局提交意见。

就国家关税和其他税项对客户的影响提供咨询服务。

协助新南威尔士州税务委员会的房地产理事会定期与国家税务局进行交涉及联络。

Parramatta市议厅:就私人认证机构颁发的批准的有效性提出质疑并进行司法审查程序。

PrimeSafePrimeSafe是维多利亚州肉类、禽和海产食品生产安全的监管机构。豪力曾代表多个受PrimeSafe监管的公司,并新近参与了在维州民事及行政法庭对PrimeSafe的监管权力提出的挑战 。

皇家委员会及调查委员会 :豪力同时代表过两家公司和知名人士多次出庭皇家委员会和调查委员会,如AWB有限公司的Cole调查委员会。

Screen Australia 提供咨询,并协助Screen Australia成功获取在澳大利亚进行屏幕生产的临时和正式认证。

代理屏幕生产商就Screen Australia的决定提出上诉。

公积金投诉审裁处: 协助规管养老金基金受托人应对退休金投诉审裁处收到的投诉及联邦法院的上诉。

维多利亚民事及行政法庭(VCAT): 代表维多利亚公共部门退休金计划应对VCAT关于伤残和死亡抚恤金的计算和支付的投诉。

Key People

Howard Rapke | 墨尔本
Ian Robertson | 悉尼
Michael Selinger | 悉尼
Greg Wrobel | 悉尼
Paul Venus | 布里斯班


浏览全部内容

Top

Holding Redlich © + 法律声明 + 网站地图 + 联系我们

English | 中文

Australian business finds itself in a regulatory environment of ever-increasing complexity. Compliance is no longer optional - it is critical to protect the interests of all organisations and their staff, regardless of size.

 

Holding Redlich has extensive experience assisting clients in all aspects of regulatory compliance, dealings with regulators and judicial challenge and review of regulatory decisions. We work with clients at both a national and state level.

And when the need arises, we work with companies and individuals who may be the subject of civil and criminal proceedings arising out of a regulatory investigation. 

Legal expertise

Our team of expert litigators and advisors is committed to helping our clients achieve optimal outcomes. Whether our clients seek proactive risk management through the development of policies and procedures or advice and representation in investigations and prosecutions, we work alongside them to help guide their businesses through an increasingly complex regulatory landscape. We specialise in:

  • acting for both corporations and individuals in regulatory investigations and prosecutions
  • assisting clients in managing regulators’ monitoring and enforcement visits
  • advising on and creating compliance and risk management policies and programs tailored to the particular risks faced by different corporations and individuals
  • advising companies, directors and officers involved in external investigations and prosecutions brought by Commonwealth and state agencies (click here to read more).

Our experience

Following are some examples of our recent regulatory work with major Australian regulators.

Administrative Appeals Tribunal (AAT): Acted for Beyond Productions, an Australian screen producer, in AAT proceedings seeking a review of a decision by Screen Australia to refuse to grant a producer offset certificate under the Income Tax Assessment Act 1997 (Cth) in respect of a documentary series.  Acted for Beyond Productions in subsequent Federal Court proceedings appealing the decision of the AAT to uphold Screen Australia’s decision.

Australian Building and Construction Commission (ABC): Acting for the Office of the ABC Commissioner in investigations and prosecutions arising out of contraventions by building industry participants of the Fair Work Act 2009 (Cth) and Building and Construction Industry Improvement Act 2005 (Cth), including a sham contracting/underpayment prosecution in Queensland.

Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (ACCC): Advising and representing businesses in respect of competition law investigations by the ACCC.

Advising on and preparing ACCC notifications in respect of proposed engagement of exclusive service suppliers.

Advising on and preparing ACCC authorisations in respect of proposed joint venture arrangements between competitors for the provision of various services.

Advice and preparation of ACCC authorisations and notifications in respect of joint ventures and exclusive supply arrangements.

Providing submissions and dealing with information requests from the ACCC in respect of mergers in the Australian media sector.

Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA): Most recently, Holding Redlich has acted for a major broadcaster in seeking ADJR Act review of a refusal by the ACMA to alter the boundaries of a radio broadcasting licence area.

Acting for Today FM, a commercial radio licensee, in respect of an ACMA investigation into alleged breaches of the Commercial Radio Australia Codes of Practice following a broadcast. 

Successfully acting for the licensee in Administrative Appeals Tribunal proceedings seeking a review of a decision by the ACMA to impose an additional licence condition on the licensee following the ACMA investigation.

Acting for Radio 2UE Sydney, a commercial radio licensee, in Federal Court of Australia proceedings relating to a decision by the ACMA to impose civil penalties against the licensee for breaches of the Broadcasting Services Act 1992 (Cth). This was the first civil penalties case under the legislation.

Australian Prudential Regulation Authority (APRA): Acted for companies within the Calliden Group, a general insurer, in two separate Federal Court of Australia proceedings seeking approval of schemes under the Insurance Act 1973 (Cth) to transfer their insurance business to other companies within the group to effect a corporate restructure.  The application included preparing submissions to APRA to grant approval to the proposed schemes.

Acting for companies within the XL Re Group, reinsurance companies registered in Australia as foreign companies, in respect of a Federal Court of Australia application seeking approval of a scheme under the Insurance Contracts Act 1973 (Cth) to transfer its reinsurance business to another company within the group to effect a corporate restructure.  The application included preparing submissions to APRA to grant approval of the proposed scheme.

Australian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC): Acted for a former stockbroker and authorised representative of a financial services licensee in an ASIC investigation, and subsequent District Court of NSW criminal proceedings, commenced by the Commonwealth DPP.  The investigation and subsequent trial related to allegations of forgery and dishonest conduct against the stockbroker in providing false and misleading information to investors.

Acted for a former employee of a company in respect of an ASIC investigation against the company alleging breaches of insider trading and market manipulation provisions under the Corporations Act 2001 (Cth).  Advised our client on compliance issues relating to a notice served by the ASIC under s33 of the Australian Securities & Investments Commission Act 2001 (Cth) seeking production of documents for the purposes of the investigation.

Acted for a commercial radio licensee in respect of an application to the ASIC to execute documents under a business sale agreement, to transfer property which had been vested in the ASIC under the Corporations Act 2001 (Cth) following the deregistration of the transferor company.

Applying for and obtaining approval for a receiver to conduct public examinations under the Corporations Act.

Negotiating with the ASIC concerning the conduct of an insolvency practitioner in a voluntary administration – litigation and non-litigation.

Environmental authorities (State and Federal): Holding Redlich has significant experience and expertise in dealing with environmental authorities and the legislation they administer, including:

  • acting for polluters in connection with the investigation and reporting to authorities of contaminated land
  • acting for polluters in connection with agreements with authorities for voluntary remediation of contaminated land
  • acting for land owners working with authorities to identify persons responsible for contamination
  • acting for developers seeking approval for a change of land use
  • acting for financiers in relation to their statutory obligation to clean up as part of any enforcement action following borrower default.

Financial Ombudsman Service (FOS): Acted for a number of investors in Financial Ombudsman Service (FOS) claims against a large stockbroking company.  The investors’ claims related to alleged breaches of the Corporations Act 2001 (Cth), and the statutory liability of the stockbroking company for its representatives’ conduct under its financial services licence.  Advised the investors on jurisdictional issues relating to their FOS claims, and prepared the claims.

Fair Work Building Industry Inspectorate: Acting for the Inspectorate in prosecutions under the Fair Work Act 2009 (Cth). Recently we advised the Inspectorate in relation to the implementation of an enforceable undertaking relating to a business alleged to have breached workplace laws.

Fair Work Ombudsman: Acting for the Fair Work Ombudsman (FWO) in investigations and prosecutions arising out of contraventions of the Fair Work Act 2009 (Cth), including the landmark FWO v Wongtas proceeding in relation to an unlawful pregnancy discrimination. Our involvement on the FWO Legal Services Panel has resulted in secondments of our lawyers to the FWO.

Advising the Ombudsman in relation to enforcement action against businesses alleged to have breached the Fair Work Act 2009 (Cth). Recently we acted for the Ombudsman in the first ever proceedings relating to breaches of the discrimination provisions under the Fair Work Act 2009 (Cth).

Foreign Investment Review Board (FIRB): Frequently acting for foreign entities seeking to invest in Australian assets, especially in the commercial real estate, agribusiness, media, and energy and resources sectors.

Minister for Planning and Infrastructure (NSW): Acting for the Minister in relation to an environmental prosecution for a breach of approval conditions for a major coal mine.

Native Title Tribunal: Acted in numerous matters before the Federal Court and Full Federal Court on behalf of the Native Title Tribunal and Registrar of the National Native Title Tribunal in applications under the Administrative Decisions (Judicial Review) Act, Native Title Act and Judiciary Act.

New South Wales Commissioner for State Revenue (State Revenue): Acting for taxpayers in their submissions to the State Revenue regarding many different valuation issues including the acquisition of significant interests in landholder vehicles and retirement villages.

Acting for taxpayers in their submissions to the State Revenue regarding the tax treatment of transactions including sale and purchases, going concerns, trusts, leases, development agreements and financial instruments.

Advising clients on the impact of state duties and taxes.

Assisting the Property Council of Australia New South Wales Tax Committee in its dealings and regular liaisons with the State Revenue.

Parramatta City Council: Conducting judicial review proceedings challenging the validity of development approvals issued by a private certifier.

PrimeSafe: PrimeSafe regulates the safety of meat, poultry and seafood production in Victoria. Holding Redlich has acted for various companies which are regulated by PrimeSafe, and has recently been involved in challenging PrimeSafe’s regulatory powers in the Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal.

Royal Commissions and Commissions of Inquiry: Holding Redlich has represented both companies and prominent individuals in numerous Royal Commissions and Commissions of Inquiry, such as the Commission of Inquiry into the Queensland Floods.

Screen Australia: Advising on, and assisting screen producers with applications for provisional and final certification for the producer offset for screen production in Australia.

Acting for screen producers in seeking judicial review of Screen Australia decisions.

Superannuation Complaints Tribunal: Assisting trustees of regulated superannuation funds with submissions to the Superannuation Complaints Tribunal and appeals from that tribunal to the Federal Court.

Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal (VCAT): Representing Victorian public sector superannuation schemes concerning complaints to VCAT in relation to benefit calculation and payment of disablement and death benefits.

Key People

Howard Rapke | Melbourne
Ian Robertson | Sydney
Michael Selinger | Sydney
Greg Wrobel | Sydney
Paul Venus | Brisbane


View all...

 

Related Practice Areas

Privacy & Data Protection

Top

Holding Redlich © 2016 + Legal Notices + Site Map + Search + Contact Us +linkedin +twitter