Artboard 1Icons/Ionic/Social/social-pinterest

Inside track: Healthcare

23 April 2019

#Construction & Infrastructure

Inside track: Healthcare

In the media

Man who killed surgeon with a single punch gets 10 years in jail
The man who killed a Melbourne heart surgeon after an argument over smoking will spend at least 10 years in jail after becoming the first person sentenced under Victoria’s one-punch laws (17 April 2019).  More...

Junk food ads binned by Queensland Government in bid to address obesity
The Queensland Government will ban junk food promotions at government-owned sites in a bid to crack down on poor diets and childhood obesity (21 April 2019).  More...

AMAQ: Doctors warn patients will be the losers in new pharmacy trial
Doctors have slammed the State Government’s decision to allow pharmacists to dispense the contraceptive pill as well as antibiotics for urinary tract infections without a current prescription. Australian Medical Association (AMA) Queensland President Dr Dilip Dhupelia said it was irresponsible and reckless to allow medications to be provided without doctors’ advice (17 April 2019).  More...

MPB: Emerging treatments - Regulation
The Medical Practitioners Board is consulting on the regulation of medical practitioners who provide complementary and unconventional medicine and emerging treatments. While excluding treatments in clinical trials, it includes treatments like stem cells, where unproven treatments are marketed and undertaken by medical practitioners. A consultation paper is available from the website. Submissions close on 30 June 2019.  More... 

Contacts: 
Melbourne
Lisa Cody, Partner - Property & Real Estate
T: +61 3 9321 9872
E: lisa.cody@holdingredlich.com

Benjamin Marshall, Partner - Workplace Relations & Safety
T: +61 3 9321 9864
E: ben.marshall@holdingredlich.com

Sydney
Scott Alden, Partner - Construction & Infrastructure
T: +61 2 8083 0419 
E: scott.alden@holdingredlich.com

Helena Golovanoff, Partner - Construction & Infrastructure
T: +61 2 8083 0443 
E: helena.golovanoff@holdingredlich.com

Darren Pereira, Partner - Corporate & Commercial 
T: +61 2 8083 0487
E: darren.pereira@holdingredlich.com

Michael Selinger, Partner - Workplace Relations & Safety
T: +61 2 8083 0430
E: michael.selinger@holdingredlich.com

Brisbane
Rachel Drew, Partner - Workplace Relations & Safety
T: +61 7 3135 0617 
E: rachel.drew@holdingredlich.com

Paul Venus, Partner - Dispute Resolution & Litigation
T: +61 7 3135 0613
E: paul.venus@holdingredlich.com

Carl Hinze, Partner - Corporate & Commercial
T: +61 7 3135 0630
E: carl.hinze@holdingredlich.com

Disclaimer
The information in this publication is of a general nature and is not intended to address the circumstances of any particular individual or entity. Although we endeavour to provide accurate and timely information, we do not guarantee that the information in this publication is accurate at the date it is received or that it will continue to be accurate in the future. We are not responsible for the information of any source to which a link is provided or reference is made and exclude all liability in connection with use of these sources.

Share this